Friday, February 26, 2010

2010 SCA 10K Championships Results

Redondo Beach Super Bowl 10K
Sunday - February 7, 2010
SCA 10K Championships Awards (PDF)

Awards - Overall Open Winners
Nathalie Higley, Redondo Beach, 36:10.3 (F-40)
Brian Livingston, Los Angeles, 31:16.0 (M-31)

Awards - Overall Masters Winners
Nathalie Higley, Redondo Beach, 36:10.3 (F-40)
Jon Megeff, Los Angeles, 35:16.1 (M–46)

More than 15,000 people rolled into scenic Redondo Beach on Sunday morning, February 7, 2010, for the series of races more generally known as the Redondo Beach Super Bowl Sunday 10K. Top USATF runners raced both the 5K and 10K event, but it was the 10K that kicked off the 2010 Southern California Association Road Championships and Road Running Grand Prix.

Leading the way for Southern California Association runners was Brian Livingston (M-32), with a time of 31:16. Livingston has been the overall winner of this popular race for the last several years, however it was international runner Monder Rizki (M-30) from Brussels who pushed ahead of Livingston with a time of 31:05 to win the 10K race. For Livingston, who ran the course in 30:46 in 2009, it was a strategic choice. “I was racing for the USATF Championship,” Livingston explained, who is focusing on a strong performance at the newly redesigned 2010 Los Angeles Marathon, just six weeks away from the Redondo Beach 10K.

In the women’s division, local favorite Nathalie Higley (F-40) led the way with a finishing time of 36:10. The first Southern California Association woman to cross the finish line, she was bested only by Kara June (F-27) of the Pacific Association USATF. Having recently turned 40, Higley also took home the title of Masters 10K Champion, winning both Open and Masters awards. Close behind Higley was Tania Fischer (F-43), also a masters runner, finishing in a time of 36:30.

If familiar faces claimed victories at the Redondo Beach Super Bowl Sunday 10K, it was the strength of the team competition that surprised everybody. Nike Team Run LA runners Luis Ibarra (M-29 31:30) and Justin Patananan (M-29 31:48) followed fellow team member Livingston in rapid succession. And Higley was just one part of the masters racing powerhouse that is Club Ed Running. Fellow team member Jon Megeff (M-46 35:16) took home the title of Masters 10K Champion, and coach Ed Avol(M-58 38:29) won silver in his age group. Dale Campbell (M-56 35:18) of Team Runners High closely followed Megeff to the finish.

As a new USATF club, Club Ed Running showed both depth and talent, winning eight medals, plus overall awards for Higley and Megeff! Also placing team scores were The Janes Elite Racing, lead by Tania Fischer, 2009 Road Running Grand Prix winners Track Club L.A. and 2009 Team Spirit winners Elite Health Track Club.

After the racing was over, runners took a cool down run and then attended the awards ceremony for the 2009 Road Running Grand Prix and the 2010 10K Championship awards. USATF Coach Bob Larsen made a special guest appearance for the awards presentation. Coach Larsen, who is currently working with top American marathoners Meb Keflezighi, Deena Kastor and Ryan Hall, handed out awards and chatted with runners about training and running.

With a strong start to 2010, Southern California Association runners are ready to take on the challenge of eight more races in the Road Running Grand Prix. With the success of the 2009 series, the overall prize money has been increased from $800, to $2,000. To be eligible for end-of-year prize money and awards, runners need to compete in a minimum of five races in the nine race series.

More Information: SCA Road Running Championships & Grand Prix

Wayne Joness
Chair, Open Athletics Long Distance Running Committee
Southern California Association/ USA Track & Field
Cell: (310) 600-5332