Wednesday, January 25, 2012

SCA Road Running Grand Prix - LA Kings 5K Results

January 21, 2012

Wayne Scott Joness

Despite the uncharacteristic chill and light rain fall, members of USATF Southern California kicked off the 2012 Road Running Grand Prix with a strong turnout at the 2012 LA Kings 5K, held on January 21, 2012, at the STAPLES Center, downtown Los Angeles. While the two loop 5K course offers technical challenges for runners negotiating the many turns, the course is also dead flat. And across the board, USATF members strategized well and set new course records in all divisions.

Setting the first course record was Luis Ibarra (M25) representing Nike Run LA, with a time of 14:50, over thirty seconds faster than the 2011 course record of 15:21. Following Ibarra across the finish line was the first place record setting masters finisher, Christian Cushing-Murray (M44) 15:16, of Compex Racing.  Rounding out the top three finishers was Justin Patananan (M31), running 15:20, also representing Nike Run LA. New Cal Coast Track Club member Gabriel Hernandez (M32) finished fourth place overall, running 15:32, with Ken Ernst (M50) also of Compex Racing, coming in fifth at 15:44. Juan Morales of Cal Coast Track Club (M32) was the third place open finisher in 16:20, and Oliver Gallego (M50) of Elite Health Track Club was the third place masters finisher, 17:52.

Santa Monica based The Janes Elite Racing swept the top three finishing places, led by member Erika Aklufi (F35) 17:14, smoking the 2011 course record of 19:04. Aklufi was followed by team members Tania Fischer (F44) 18:02 and Adrienne Schumm (F25) 18:18. Cal Coast Track Club member Nicole Slykhous (F22) was fourth overall with 18:21, followed by The Janes Elite Racings’ Samantha Jones (F26) 18:37 and Emily Mitchell (F33) 18:40. Cal Coast Track Club again showed their depth, with member Hannah Rae Finchamp (F16) leading the youth division, running 19:05, followed by 2nd place masters finisher Rosalva Bonilla (F49) in 19:07, also of Cal Coast Track Club. Fellow Cal Coast Track Club member Yayoi Liu (F54) took home the 3rd place masters medal with a time of 20:43.

With the strong turnout by The Janes Elite Racing and Cal Coast Track Club, it is no surprise that these two clubs easily took the lead in 2012 Road Running Grand Prix scoring. The Janes scored highest with 4155 age-graded points, but Cal Coast Track Club was right behind them, with 4098 points. Both clubs are competing better than ever, and clearly upping their game, vying to claim the title of 2012 Road Running Grand Prix Champions.


SCA Grand Prix

LA Kings 5K

Saturday - January 21, 2012

SCA Grand Prix Standings:


2012 LA Kings 5K Results

Awards - Overall Open Winners

Open 1st: Luis Ibarra, M-31, 14:49.7
Open 1st: Erika Aklufi, F-35, 17:14.3
Open 2nd: Justin Patananan, M-31, 15:20.4
Open 2nd: Adrienne Schumm, F-25, 18:18.3
Open 3rd: Juan Morales, M-32, 16:19.6
Open 3rd: Samantha Jones, F-26, 18:37.2

Awards - Overall Masters Winners

Masters 1st: Christian Cushing-Murray, M-44, 15:16.0
Masters 1st: Tania Fischer, F-44, 18:02.4
Masters 2nd: Ken Ernst, M-50, 15:44.8
Masters 2nd: Rosalva Bonilla, F-49, 19:09.4
Masters 3rd: Oliver Gallego, M-50, 17:51.8
Masters 3rd: Yayoi Liu, F-54, 20:42.5

Thursday, January 19, 2012

Congratulations 2011 SCA Road Running Grand Prix Open/Masters Winners!

David Ferreira Gold 19-24
Michael Cruz-Herrera Gold 25-29
Cambria Wu Gold 30-34
Trevor Cox Gold 30-34
Annie Fu Gold 35-39
Humberto Sanchez Gold 35-39
Alison Atkinson Gold 40-44
Mark Steyvers Gold 40-44
Tania Fischer Gold 45-49
Jon Megeff Gold 45-49
Yayoi Liu Gold 50-54
Rich Gust Gold 50-54
Dale Campbell Gold 55-59
William Sumner Gold 60-64
Sue Reinhardt Gold 65-69

Ann Wilson Silver 30-34
Casey Fetzer Silver 30-34
Eduardo Villegas Silver 35-39
Curt Hughes Silver 40-44
Julie Hart Silver 45-49
Dennis Ryan Silver 45-49
John Araujo Silver 50-54
Steve Notaro Silver 60-64

Jason Wang Bronze (3rd) 30-34
Miguel Villegas Bronze (3rd) 35-39
Greg Hemphill Bronze (3rd) 40-44
Karina Bird Bronze (3rd) 45-49
Leon Laub Bronze (3rd) 50-54
Bert Sandoval Bronze (3rd) 60-64

Paul Walker Bronze (4th) 40-44
David Grethen Bronze (4th) 50-54
Joe Ogata Bronze (4th) 60-64

Congratulations 2011 SCA Road Running Grand Prix Youth Winners!

Sofia Gibson Gold Sub Bantam
Rebecca Cushing-Murray Gold Bantam
Sydney Tullai Gold Midget
Kendall Stuart Gold Midget
Anthony Palazzo Gold Youth

Anna Goeller Silver Bantam
Gerret Keyes Silver Midget
Penn Colby Silver Youth

Jordan Keyes Bronze (3rd) Youth
Shawn Trejo Bronze (4th) Youth

Sunday, January 15, 2012

Congratulations USATF Southern California Olympic Team Trials Marathon Competitors!

Olympic teammates, from left, Desiree Davila, Ryan Hall, Abi Abdirahman, Shalane Flanagan, Meb Keflezighi and Kara Goucher stand on the finishing podium after the U.S. Olympic Trials Marathon. (Johnny Hanson / Houston Chronicle)

Ryan Hall (2) 2:09:30 Amy Hastings (4) 2:27:17
Jimmy Grabow (10) 2:12:29 Deena Kastor (6) 2:30:40
Josh Cox (14) 2:13:50 Jen Rhines (64) 2:43:35
Patrick Smyth (22) 2:15:00 Cheryl Smith (86) 2:46:07
Brian Ball (39) 2:17:38
Charlie Serrano (49) 2:19:48

Congratulations to all the members of USATF Southern California who competed in the 2012 Olympic Trials, in Houston Texas. USATF Southern California member Ryan Hall earned a spot on the 2012 Olympic team with his 2:09:30 second place finish. First place finisher Meb Keflezighi is a member of the USATF New York, but is coached by USATF Southern California Long Distance Running co-chair Bob Larsen, co-founder of the Mammoth Track Club. Jimmy Grabow, of adidas Legacy Run Racing, also scored a top-10 finish, with his 2:12:29 time.

In the women's division 2011 USATF Southern California Marathon Champion Amy Hastings barely missed a spot on the Olympic team with her fourth place 2:27:17 finish.

Complete Men's Results

Complete Women's Results

Wednesday, January 11, 2012

Good luck USATF Southern California Olympic Marathon Team Trials Competitors!

2008 Olympians - Photo left: Brian Sell, Ryan Hall, Dathan Ritzenhein, Photo Right: Blake Russell, Deena Kastor, and Magdalena Lewy Boulet
Mary Akor Brian Ball
Mandy Grantz Josh Cox
Amy Hastings Jimmy Grabow
Deena Kastor Ryan Hall
Jen Rhines Charlie Serrano
Abigail Swift Patrick Smyth
Cheryl Smith Mo Trafer

This weekend the 2012 U.S. Olympic Team Trials will be held in Houston January 14, 2012. The races will determine the three men and three women who will represent the United States in the marathon at the 2012 Olympic Games in London. Members of USATF Southern California are expected to again be a dominant force at the Olympic Trials this year. If these names look familiar, it is because many of the talented runners are also USATF Southern California Champions! Check out the links below to learn more about the 2012 Olympic Team Trails, and watch exclusive video interviews with these USATF Southern California Champions!