Sunday, December 18, 2011

Congratulations 2011 SCA Road Running Champions!

More than 530 USATF Southern California runners posted scores in the 2011 Road Running Grand Prix series. Leading the way for the youth division are runners Sydney Tullai (12) with 2595 points and Anthony Palazzo (14) 2544 points. Youth runners were required to run 3 races for end-of-year awards.

In the open and masters divisions, Tania Fischer (45) and Dale Campbell (58) again won 1st place, winning $500 each. Second place awards go to Jon Megeff (48) and Alison Atkinson (44) with a $250 prize. Third place: Rich Gust (52) and Yayoi Liu (54) winning $150. Fourth place: Mark Steyvers (41) and Cambria Wu (33) for $75, and fifth place kudos to William Sumner (63) and Sue Reinhardt (65) taking home $25.

With four runners in the top finishers, Club Ed Running again showed their depth and strength, winning 21592 points, taking top honors for the second year in a row. It was a close contest for second and third, with The Janes Elite Racing scoring 20961, beating Cal Coast Track Club 20833, by a margin of 128 points. Fourth place went to Track Club L.A., 19235, with new USATF club Gritty City Track Club coming on strong with 18715.

In the youth division, The Equalizers remain unchallenged again, with the South Orange County Wildcats competing well in the 2011 series, but the Wildcats failed to field a team in a minimum of three races.