Saturday, May 19, 2012

Magic Shoe 5 km May 19, 2012 - USATF Report

A festive atmosphere, great weather, a worthy cause, and a fast course greeted over 900 registered runners at the "Biggest little 5000 in Orange County".  The streets of Newport Beach were host to over 170 SCA USATF participants for the fifth race in the 2012 USATF Grand Prix Road running series.  Coach Sumner usually engineers a fast course and the competitors did not disappoint with 4 men running sub-15 minutes and 20 Men in the field under 16 minutes.

Magic Shoe 5K Start

On the men's open side, Roosevelt Cook (M32) from Cal Coast Track Club was the top USATF finisher with a time of 14:55.  Carlos Carballo (M29) running for adidas Legacy Run Racing was second at 14:59 and Jorge Jabaz (M25) finished third at 15:03.  Just 8 seconds separated the top 3 USATF men in a very close competition.

USATF Members Peter Magill (left) and Yermie Cohen (right). Magill is on his way to setting a new mens 50-54 5K record: 15:05.

The women's open field was also very competitive with The Janes Elite Racing runner Erika Akulfi (F36) winning with a time of 16:43. With the strength of her four fantastic races this year Erika is positioned to move to the top of the women's Grand Prix standings.  Second place went to Jenni Johnson (F32) at 17:01 and close behind in third place was Brooks ID runner and 2012 USATF Southern California Marathon Champion Sara Raschiatore (F31) with a time of 17:22.

Magic Shoe 5K Competitors

In the men's masters division Peter Magill (M50) from Cal Coast Track Club was first with a 15:05.  Magill's feat was amazing in the fact that he had just broken Ken Ernst's 5000M record on the track at the Oxy Invitational on May 5th with a time of 15:11.  The 15:05 is a new American 5K Road Record, run on the recently certified 5K course.  Ken Ernst (M50) and Jeff Ambos (M50) also teammates of Peter from Cal Coast Track Club finished in second and third with times of 15:52 and 15:55 respectively.

Club Ed Running standout runner Nathalie Higley (F42) at 17:02 was the top masters woman and also moved up to challenge for a top spot in the women's Grand Prix standings.  Ingrid Walters (F40) also from The Janes Elite Racing finished second at 19:06.  Cal Coast Track Club’s Rosalva Bonilla (F49) finished third at 19:10 and will maintain her position as one of the top 3 women in the overall Grand Prix standings.

Team Domination: Cal Coast Track Club

In the team competition, Cal Coast Track Club running on their home turf took the team competition with 4623 Grand Prix points, which is the single highest club score in the history of the USATF Southern California Road Running Grand Prix. This astonishing accomplishment was certainly helped by Magill's new American Record in the 5K.  Club Ed was second with 4250 points followed closely by The Janes Elite Racing with 4201 points.

Competing in the Youth Road Running Grand Prix, the Equalizers continued their domination with 4347 points, a score which would put them among the top Open- Masters teams. With many teams approaching 5 races, lower race scores will be dropped and we should see all of the team jockeying for position as the Grand Prix will move to Santa Barbara and the Semana-Nautica 15K on the Fourth of July.


Magic Shoe 5K

Saturday - May 19, 2012

SCA Grand Prix Standings:


2012 Magic Shoe 5K Results

Awards - Overall Open Winners

Open 1st: Roosevelt Cook, M-32, 14:55.3
Open 1st: Erika Aklufi, F-35, 16:43.1
Open 2nd: Jorge Jabaz, M-25, 15:03.1
Open 2nd: Jenni Johnson, F-32, 17:02.5
Open 3rd: Sydney Gidabuday, M-15, 15:33.5
Open 3rd: Sara Raschiatore, F-31, 17:22.1

Awards - Overall Masters Winners

Masters 1st: Peter Magill, M-50, 15:05.0
Masters 1st: Nathalie Higley, F-42, 17:02.2
Masters 2nd: Ken Ernst, M-50, 15:52.4
Masters 2nd: Ingrid Walters, F-40, 19:06.3
Masters 3rd: Jeff Ambos, M-50, 15:55.2
Masters 3rd: Rosalva Bonilla, F-49, 19:10.1

Awards - Youth Division 10 and Younger

1st: Jackson Coney, M-10, 19:19.5
1st: Ashiling Carr, F-10, 19:25.3
2nd: Kylen Patel, M-10, 21:00.5
2nd: Rebecca Cushing-Murray, F-10, 19:47.3
3rd: Jonathan Manara, M-9, 21:31.2
3rd: Autumn Clarke, F-10, 20:44.2
4th: Nicholas Allred, M-8, 23:03.1
4th: Aleksandra Crampton, F-10, 21:31.1
5th: Alex Florman, M-10, 23:07.5
5th: Anisha Fenske, F-10, 22:10.2

Awards - Youth Division 11 - 12

1st: Addison Schwarz, M-12, 19:09.3
1st: Olivia Gleason, F-12, 18:54.1
2nd: Daniel Bautista, M-11, 19:16.1
2nd: Hannah Hall, F-12, 19:13.1
3rd: Jack Mahony, M-11, 19:19.1
3rd: Anna Goeller, F-11, 20:03.4
4th: Jacob Aspling, M-12, 20:23.3
4th: Ariel Van Riper, F-11, 20:08.1
5th: Logan Eldridge, M-12, 20:31.1
5th: Reagan Peterson, F-11, 20:15.4