Thursday, December 17, 2009

SCA 10K Championships - Dana Point Turkey Trot 10K

SCA 10K Championships
Dana Point Turkey Trot 10K
Friday - November 27, 2009


Overall Open Winners
  • Charlie Serrano 29:34 M
  • Mary Akor 34:33 F
Overall Masters Winners
  • Dave Parsel 34:51 M 50-54
  • Sue Zihlmann 39:11 F 45-49
DANA POINT, CA—As the sun rose to reveal clear skies and perfect racing conditions, elite USATF runners were handed the few precious bib numbers still available early on the crisp, Southern California Thanksgiving morning. For the second year in a row, the Dana Point Turkey Trot 10K had sold out, and numbers were in very short supply. With more than 10,000 participating runners in 2009, Dana Point claims the title as the most popular Turkey Trot event in the United States!

Overall Open Winner - Female - Mary Akor

As the top twenty bib numbers were distributed, Mary Akor, the 2008 Southern California Association Half Marathon Champion, was handed bid number one from Bob Seagren, CEO of International City Racing. “She’s a helluva runner!” Seagren remarked, recognizing Akor from her many wins at ICR events.

From the start of the race, it was clear that Akor was anything but intimidated by wearing bib “1” as she took a strong lead and held it for the entire race. By the time Akor crossed the finish line in 34:33, she was more than thirty seconds ahead of Carly Harris (35:04) and Kaitlin O’Sullivan (35:16). The close finish between ICR teammates Harris and O’Sullivan mirrored their first and second place finish less than two weeks earlier at the 2009 SCA Cross Country Open Championships on November 15, at Kenneth Hahn Park.

Overall Open Winner - Male - Charlie Serrano

In the men’s division, the competition was closer, but Charlie Serrano, (ICR runner and 2009 SCA Cross Country Open Champion) won with a blistering finishing time of 29:34. Serrano left nothing on the road that day, finishing just three seconds ahead of Morocco’s Karim Elmabchour (29:37). Ben Bruce, of Oregon Track Club Elite rounded out the top three runners with a time of 29:50.

Masters Winners - Dave Parsel & Sue Zihlmann

Dave Parcel (34:51) and Sue Zihlmann (39:11) win the 2009 Southern California Association USATF 10K Masters Championships

While International City Racing continues their domination of open events, A Snail’s Pace Track Club showed the depth and power of their team roster in the masters division, where Dave Parcel and Sue Zihlmann took home the top honors, finishing in 34:51 and 39:11 respectively.

Under the direction of Bob Morris, A Snail’s Pace Track Club fielded some of the best runners in the 2009 Road Running Championships, and the motivated club looks well positioned to lead in scoring in the 2010 Road Running Championships as well.