Monday, December 20, 2010

SCA Road Running & Grand Prix Series Update

The Equalizers Track Club Win 2010 Youth Road Running Grand Prix!

 Members of The Equalizers Track Club. Top left, coach Jerry Palazzo, top right, coach Marti Potter

To say that the The Equalizers Track Club dominated the 2010 Youth Road Running Grand Prix would be a vast understatement. More than 100 members of this incredibly talented USATF club participated in the 2010 series. 22 of the top 24 Grand Prix medalists are from the The Equalizers Track Club, leaving no doubt that they are a major force in youth long distance running in the Southern California Association.

Members of the Equalizers participated in almost every Grand Prix distance, including the 1 mile, 5 km, 8 km, 10 km, 15 km and full marathon distances. And Equalizer members participated both as road runners, and race walkers.

Compex Racing Wins 2010 USATF National Club Cross Country Championships Masters Title!

Back Row (left to right): Dave Schumacher, Jeff Ambos, Andy DiConti, Dan Arsenault, Pete Magill, Ken Ernst Front Row (left to right): Gray Mavhera, Christian Cushing-Murray, John Moss

Following their 2009 defeat to the talented Atlanta Track Club, Compex Racing made a commitment to up their game for 2010. The team stuck to their plan, trained and raced hard through the fall, and peaked right in time to claim the USATF National Title, leaving the 2009 Champions Atlanta Track Club with the second place finish.

Coach Pete Magill remarked that this was "One of the most satisfying team wins I’ve been part of, rivaled only by the first Fluffy Bunny win. While winning three straight with Team Runners High was a blast, in those days we were "young" 40-44-year-olds, and it came easy. To do it this year with 3 of our top 5 guys being 49 years old - and our sixth man 48 - was really something."

Video highlights Men’s Masters Race Highlights - USATF Club Cross Country Championships 2010 - Courtesy Runnerspace.

Also competing in the national cross country showdown were the 2010 USATF Southern California Association Open Championship teams The Janes Elite Racing, and the Run Racing Track Club.

In the open women's division, the Janes came in 18th in a competitive field at the McAlpine Greenway Park scoring 456 points. Run Racing finished 11th overall, with a score of 335 points.

Click here for complete results.
Click here for more video highlights and stories.

Don’t miss out on your chance to get in one of the 2011 Honda LA Marathon Presented by K-Swiss Seeded Corrals! New Course Details!

Seeded Start Corrals A, B, C are secure start areas designed to offer a quicker and smoother start for all qualified marathon runners. Assignment to Seeded Start Corrals is based on a submitted qualifying time run in a recent marathon and offered on a first-come, first-served basis.

The LA Marathon is also implementing Wave Starts this year and the Seeded Corrals will make up Wave 1. Space is still available, but you must register and provide proof of a qualifying marathon time before January 1, 2011 at 11:59pm!

To submit application for placement in the sub-3, sub-4 or sub-5 hour Corrals, enter the race name, date, and qualifying time in the appropriate location with your online marathon entry and the marathon office will verify authenticity. If you run a faster marathon after registering for the 2011 Honda LA Marathon, you can send proof of this finish to 310.271.7202 (fax) or Corral requests must be received by January 1, 2011.
  • Corral A = Sub - 3 hour
  • Corral B = Sub - 4 hour
  • Corral C = Sub - 5 hour

New Course Details: One of the world’s greatest marathon routes just got a little better. The 2011 Honda LA Marathon Presented by K-Swiss will once again start at Dodger Stadium and finish on Ocean Avenue, just steps from the Santa Monica Pier. Along the way, runners will pass all of the great landmarks of the 2010 race - along with a few new ones, including Chinatown and Little Tokyo. Get all the details here and make sure to watch the new animated course video.

2011 Road Running Grand Prix Takes Shape! The final races are being selected for the 2011 Road Running Grand Prix. The complete schedule will be posted soon! The first three races for 2011 are:
  • 02-06 Redondo Beach 5K: Kick off 2011 with this great ocean side 5 km race! The 2010 Road Running Grand Prix awards will also be presented at the Redondo Beach 5K! 
  • 02-27 Brea 8K: Celebrate the 20th anniversary of this amazing 8 km! Bigger, better, with a new post-race feast for runners! 
  • 03-20 LA Marathon: Register now for this 26.2 mile tour of the greatest landmarks in Los Angeles!

See you at the starting line!

Wayne Joness
Chair, Southern California USATF Open Athletics LDR